Sponsors, Patrons and Acknowledgments

Singleton Hospital Pontoon Club, SwanseaSheila Sarley-FlemingRobert Harding

Jack & Monica Heard

Anonymous Donation In Memory of Sue Griffith (SMU Lecturer)

Hewson Devonald

Dr Russ Harris

My partner Philip Heard was interested in design and architecture, I was interested in art and music. When we got together, there was an osmosis. Initially I thought ‘Who was Eileen Gray?’, Phil thought ‘Who was Francis Bacon?’. After sixteen years together we both knew who they were. The drawback was that a teapot was not just a teapot, a chair was not just a chair. Any shopping trip turned into an analysis of the pouring abilities of the pot, and the angle of inclination when reclining in the chair.

When Phil died six years ago, our friend Angela Maddock suggested funding a prize or award in his memory. I was enthusiastic, as it seemed such a positive thing to do following bereavement. Initially I approached Swansea Metropolitan University, then I started to discuss the idea with Jane and Amanda at Mission Gallery. Sadly Jane’s illness meant that the award did not materialise.

Recently, Amanda suggested re-visiting the idea, with me becoming a patron of the Jane Phillips Award. I cannot think of a more fitting souvenir of Phil my soulmate, and Jane my friend. Maybe they are sharing a cuppa on the other side, poured from a particularly well designed teapot of course.

June 2011

Dr. Mary Ellis & Mr Malcolm McGeoch

Malcolm and I are delighted to support the Jane Phillips Award. In doing so we celebrate, not only her drive and talent, but also for me, a wonderful friendship of over 50 years.

My friend Jane, the child aged 3 I played with in Thistleboon, the girl I rode ponies with on the Mumbles Hill, the teenager I travelled to Paris with for the Cezanne exhibition, the girl I shared a lifetime of confidences and laughter with and the talented woman who worked her magic to ensure Mission Gallery blossomed into that marvellous mix of commercial success and a wonderfully exciting showcase for young and emerging artistic talent.

July 2011

Kingsbridge Print
22-24 West Street | Gorseinon | Swansea
01792  897321

Charterbrook Signs
Unit 1 Clarion Close | Swansea Enterprise Park Swansea SA6 8QU
01792 799 888

Swansea College of Art, UWTSD
Dynevor Centre For Art, Design and Media
De-La-Beche Street | Swansea SA1 3EU
01792 481285

Ocean Gallery
212 Oxford Street | Swansea SA1 3BG
01792 473 689


Special thanks to the following individuals, organisations and businesses, who have helped make the Jane Phillips Exhibition, Award and Auction possible and those who continue to ensure its continued success and longevity:

Arts Council of Wales | Jonathan Anderson | Meg Anthony | GwennoAngharad | Keith Bayliss | Chris Bird-Jones | Carys Brown | Chris Brown | Alan Bower | Nathalie Camus | Kathryn Campbell | Robin Campbell | Emma Cartwright | Ruth Cayford | Charterbrook Signs | Phil Cheater | GlenysCour | Sybil Crouch | Claire Curneen | Lowri Davies | Tim Davies | Paul Duerinckx | KirstineDunthorne | Laura Edmunds | Sean Edwards | Carwyn Evans | Rob & Andrea Evans | Kim Fielding | Peter Finnemore | Emma Geliot | David & Angela George | Paul Giuffrida | Glynn Vivian Art Gallery | Janice Goble | Thomas Goddard | Helen Griffin | Sue Griffith | Huw& Marilyn Griffiths | Owen Griffiths | Julia Griffiths Jones | Elyse Gwyn | Jennifer Hallam | Robert Harding | Samuel Hasler | Jack & Monica Heard | Malcolm Hill | Neale Howells | Philip Hughes | Shaun James | Celina Jeffery | Lisa Jones | Hannah Kelly | Kingsbridge Print | Philippa Lawrence | Mark Lewis | Karen MacKinnon | AngelaMaddock | Elaine Marshall | Sam Mills-Williams | Sally Moss | Michael Nixon | Ocean Gallery | Osi Rhys Osmond | Phil Owen | HywelPontin | Jonathan Powell | Dr. Anne Price-Owen | Pamela Rawnsley | Lucy Read | Ellis Rees | Mary & Bryn Roberts | Ben Rowe | Emma Cartwright | Sheila Sarley-Fleming | Lauren Danielle Rees | Singleton Hospital Pontoon Club | Thomas Smith | Jenni Spencer-Davies | Olwen Stocker | Tim Stokes | Steve Stokes | Swansea College of Art, UWTSD | Swansea Studios | Fern Thomas | Laura Thomas | Ronny Thompson | Ralph Turner | Sue Williams | Roy Willingham | Craig Wood

A special thank you to The Family of Jane Phillips
Mission Gallery Staff:
Amanda Roderick | Director
Tim Stokes | Learning & Participation Officer
Rhian Wyn Stone | Retail & Front of House Supervisor
Karen Blaise Tobin | Exhibitions & Marketing Assistant
Paula Richards | Finance & Administrative Assistant
Megan Leigh | Education Assistant
Rachael Leahy | Retail Assistant
Sophia Davies | Criw Celf West Assistant
Jonathan Powell | Building Maintenance & Technical Support
Matthew Otten | Design & Branding

Mission Gallery Board:
Bella Kerr | Chair
Keith Bayliss | Vice Chair
Hamish Gane
Russ Harris | Vice Chair, Friends of Mission Gallery
Anna Lewis
Gail Wynter | Treasurer
Rhian Jones | Chair, Friends of Mission Gallery
David White
Wynne Jones
Angela Maddock
Isabel Griffin | Company Secretary

Jane Phillips Award Patrons
Dr Russ Harris (on behalf of Phil Heard) | Mr Malcolm McGeoch& Dr Mary Ellis
Huw& Marilyn Griffiths | Rob & Andrea Evans | David & Angela George | Mary Roberts

Auction: Contributing Artists
Jacqueline Alkema | Katie Allen | Jonathan Anderson | Kathryn Ashill | IwanBala | Maggie Barnes | Anna Barratt | Eva Bartussek | Keith Bayliss | Chris Bird-Jones | William Brown | Heather Brown | Robin Campbell | Gill Clement | Muriel Clement | John Cooper | Gemma Copp | GlenysCour | Claire Curneen | Gareth Davies | Tim Davies | Lowri Davies | Paul Duerinckx | Alex Duncan | Laura Edmunds | Paul Emmanuel | John Uzzell Edwards | Anthony Evans | Carwyn Evans | Deborah Evans | John Paul Evans | Peter Finnemore | Helen Finney | Michelle Freemantle | Hamish Gane | Valerie Ganz | Paul Giuffrida | Tony Goble | Anton Goldenstein | Owen Griffiths | Julia Griffiths-Jones | Rhian Haf | Stewart Hearn | Amber Hiscott | Nick Holly | Neale Howells | Aled Rhys Hughes | Nicolas William Hughes | Ioan Humphreys | Karen Ingham | Dilys Jackson | Peter Jonckheere | Catrin Jones | Christine Jones | Lisa Jones | Mary Lloyd Jones | Ann Jordan | Walter Keeler | Christopher Kelly | Bella Kerr | Philippa Lawrence | Anna Lewis | Angela Maddock | Nick Martin | Nicola O’Neill | Brenda Oakes | Paul Peter Piech | Jonathan Powell | Anne Price-Owen | John Pym | Pamela Rawnsley | Sara Rees & Liz Waterhouse | Ben Rowe | Osi Rhys Osmond | Emma Cartwright | Savage | Aled Simons | Thomas Smith | Supersaurus | Rhian Wyn Stone | Fern Thomas | Mikaela Toczek | Craig Wood | Sue Williams | Martin Williams | Roy Willingham | Claire Yeo

Swansea College of Art, UWTSD
Kingsbridge Print
Charterbrook Signs
Ocean Gallery

Mission Gallery is supported by the Arts Council of Wales

Still Life by Jane Phillips (Date Unknown). Photography by Thomas Smith.
Courtesy of Mission Gallery & The Jane Phillips Award

Jane Phillips Award Management Committee
Keith Bayliss | Chairman
Robert Phillips | Treasurer
Rhian Wyn Stone | Secretary

Amanda Roderick | Mission Gallery Director
Claire Densham  | Family of Jane Phillips
Louise Gibbard | Family of Jane Phillips

Russ Harris | Jane Phillips Award Patron

Many thanks for your interest in the Jane Phillips Award.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.